How is this not Murder?

  

How do I say this?In this country it is not legal to perform an abortion after 24 weeks of pregnancy, because at that point the baby becomes ‘viable’, that is, able to exist outside the womb. BUT if the baby has been diagnosed with Down’s Syndrome, then the law allows abortion up to 39weeks and six days. That’s full term (full term is anything after 37 weeks), a mere ONE DAY before baby’s due date. 

This is my son at just 34 weeks of pregnancy – a few minutes after he was born. He cried loudly straight away, he required no resuscitation or ventilation. He was eager to suckle. He weighed 5lbs 10oz. 

34 weeks. For almost another SIX WEEKS after this point it would have been legal for him to be aborted.

I received a comment the other day to the effect that abortion up to 40 weeks wasn’t murder. How does this person imagine the procedure is done? Do they imagine that the baby is just “removed” or magicked away? Do they perhaps think that labour is induced and the baby conveniently fails to be alive at the end of the process; or no one bothers to put the batteries in?

My labour was induced and my baby was very much ALIVE and VIABLE at the end of it. Yes, even though he indubitably had Down’s Syndrome, he was, I repeat, ALIVE and VIABLE. 

Am I making myself clear?

In order to “abort” a foetus after 24 weeks of pregnancy the death of the baby must be brought about before labour is induced. I don’t know how – I can’t bear to research it. How is this not “murder”?

If a woman is assaulted and her unborn baby dies as a result, then her attacker will be charged with a criminal offence. Her foetus has a right to life, as does any other human being.

I repeat again – the picture here is of a human foetus at 34 weeks gestation. A foetus with Down’s Syndrome.

Am I making myself clear yet?

5 thoughts on “How is this not Murder?

  1. Couldn’t agree with you more. We lost our baby through stillbirth at 34 weeks. Not genetic disorders, it was just one of those things. Giving birth to a stillborn baby is the most traumatic thing I have ever had to do. To actually choose to do that is beyond my comprehension. Down’s syndrome is no biggie. It’s just an extra chromosome.

    People with Down’s syndrome really do make the world a better place. I wouldn’t be without Evie for the world. When we lost her baby brother she fixed us. She made us live.

    Really well said Kerry. xxx

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you. I am sorry to hear that you lost your little boy. When I was in the hospital a midwife came to do my obs. When she’d finished she stood gazing. At Freddie in his little tank for ages. Then big tears welled up in her eyes. She said: ‘You’re so lucky you got to meet your little boy.’ She told me she’d carried a boy with Down’s, but he had been stillborn. The depth of her grief showed me the depth of love that I would have for my little boy. He is just as precious and wonderful as his brother and sister, and really no different from them than they are from each other. Xx

      Liked by 2 people

  2. downssideup says:

    Such a powerful post which really demonstrates the level of love we have for our children. What saddens me most is that while we fight to reduce the Ground E abortion time limit, other groups are fighting to increase the abortion limit for all babies up to full term, for any reason. What kind of world do we live in.
    Thank you for joining the #TeamT21 linky.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for letting me join the linky, and for taking the time to read my post. It saddens me greatly that in some quarters there seems to be so little regard for the sanctity of life, especially where there is a perceived or actual “disability” involved. I started my little blog because I wanted to show that families like ours can have a very ‘normal’ kind of a life, and enjoy a really good quality of life too. I think perhaps that’s one thing that people worry about when they get a diagnosis – they think their nice, normal life is going to disappear over the horizon with its bum on fire. But no, with a few reasonable adjustments life goes on. The new or prospective parents and grandparents facing diagnosis are who I picture in my mind when I write. I want to share with them a reassurance that no amount of medical information or statistics could give – what everyday life is, or can be, like for families like us.

      Like

Leave a Reply

