PLATITUDES AND ATTITUDE

A friend shared a post today about the oft-quoted, and irksome phrase ‘Special babies only come to special people’, and it put me in mind of this short post I wrote two years ago:

Platitudes and Attitude.

A note to well-meaning people.

You say: ‘Special babies only come to special people’. I know you think you mean well, I know you think you are paying me a compliment. But you are not.

You are holding that phrase out in front of you like a talisman against the evil eye: reassuring yourself that it could never happen to you, because you are ordinary, just the same as everyone else, not ‘special’ or ‘different’ like I must be. There’s nothing about you that attract that kind of luck.

Well, guess what? I’m just like everyone else too. I’ve done nothing good or bad in my life to attract God’s eye, either.

I’m just like YOU.

This little boy is my baby, I carried him in my womb, fed him at my breast and he’s one of only three people who can call me ‘Mummy’. That’s the most special thing in all the world. And the most ordinary.

Leave a Reply

