What A Star.

Freddie likes to follow a predictable routine. Familiarity is comforting to many of us, and in Freddie’s case, I think it also helps him to make sense of things – if THIS is happening now, then THAT will probably be happening next. This is probably the reason why he can be resistant to a sudden change of plan. Every school day the minibus comes to the end of the drive to collect Freddie for school. But today the bus was rather late. Then I had a phone call from one of the chaperones to say that the bus had been stuck for ten minutes on the main road that leads to our little estate, behind the huge vehicles of a maintenance crew who were resurfacing the road; could I possibly walk Freddie down to the main road? In the background I could hear that some of the other children were getting distressed – they like their predictable routines, too. I told her I would, but it might take me some time to coax him to do something different. Then I took a deep breath and …


Freddie was an absolute star. I explained the road was being mended, which meant the bus couldn’t drive over it to get to our house, so we’d have to walk to meet the bus on the main road. He was playing a game on my phone while he waited for the bus – his reward for completing all the steps on his morning routine. Usually he’s allowed to carry the phone to the bus at the end of the drive, and gives it back to me before going up the step. I told him we couldn’t walk down the street playing a game, we’d have to leave the phone behind, and straight away he let me have it back. He took my hand and walked nicely all the way off the estate; no refusals, no pulling his hand out of mine, no flop-and-drop. He jumped up onto the bus and went straight to his seat, and the bus was able to turn around and continue on its way again )much to the relief of everyone aboard).

And it was a lovely sunny morning too. 

Can’t be bad 😁

2 thoughts on “What A Star.

Leave a Reply

